New releases for 16 September 2016

Once again it’s been a real struggle to get down to just eight recommended releases. First up for 16 September is The Handsome Family with Unseen, which is Americana Gothic of the highest order – you can practically see the tumbleweed blowing whilst listening. The ever prolific Dawes release the cheerfully titled We’re All Gonna Die, managing the conjuring trick of sounding both vintage and modern all at the same time. Seth Lakeman’s eighth (how did that happen?), Ballad Of The Broken Few, benefits greatly from the addition of Wildwood Kin on harmony backing delivering a more intimate, soulful and emotional feel to this album. Hundred Records favourite Madeleine Peyroux has always managed to produce an sound all of her own, mixing jazz, blues and soul with impassioned vocals; her latest album, Secular Hymns, is no different. The Small Hours is Matt Berry’s most personal release to date, a reflection on those things that go through all our minds in the quiet hours of the night. Trentmøller’s Fixion takes his trademark melancholy and wraps it around an atmospheric and darkly romantic album, and might be his best yet. Silver ApplesClinging To A Dream is an album of unique electronic experimentation which is uniquely accessible at the same time.

Release of the week is Led Zeppelin’s Complete BBC Sessions, which represents peak Zeppelin in all their glory over 3 CDs expertly remastered under Jimmy Page’s guidance.

Led Zeppelin - The Complete BBC SessionsThe Handsome Family - UnseenDawes - We’re All Gonna DieSeth Lakeman - Ballads Of The Broken FewMadeleine Peyroux - Secular HymnsMatt Berry - The Small HoursTrentmøller - FixionSilver Apples - Clinging To A Dream

Click here for more details and to order your copy.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *