New releases for 26 August 2016

First of our recommended releases for 26 August is a covers record with a difference from The Devil Makes Three – each side of Redemption & Ruin has an old-fashioned concept all on its own: the songs chosen relate to either redemption or ruin. Neat! De La Soul release And The Anonymous Nobody, an album based on samples taken from a library of 300 hours of music covering every genre you can imagine, created by De La Soul themselves – a bold work. The Lee Thompson Ska Orchestra return with a new album bursting with riotous ska energy and fun. Prophets Of Rage, comprising Tom Morello, Tim Commerford, Brad Wilk, Chuck D, B-Real, and DJ Lord are back and well named: The Party’s Over is brimful of anger at the state of the world. Britney Spears’s Glory is hi-definition pop produced to within an inch of its life to make your feet tap and your voice sing along almost without knowing! The Dillinger Escape Plan continue with what they do best with Disassociation: that is, thrilling heads-down no-nonsense rock’n’roll. The Minus 5’s Of Monkees And Men is a surreal album about the Monkees and the people who influenced them, written by Scott McCaughey with the usual help from both Mike Mills and Peter Buck of REM.

Release of the week is the surprisingly intense and emotional Winter by New Model Army.

New Model Army - WinterThe Devil Makes Three - Redemption & RuinDe La Soul - And The Anonymous NobodyThe Lee Thompson Ska Orchestra - Bite The BulletProphets of Rage - The Party’s OverBritney Spears - GloryThe Dillinger Escape Plan - DisassociationThe Minus 5 - Of Monkees And Men

Click here for more details and to order your copy.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *