New releases for 21 October 2016

First up for release on 21 October, Pretenders are back! Chrissie Hynde was in the process of recording a follow-up to her solo release Stockholm when she realised that the songs she’d written were perfect for the more muscular Pretenders sound, so Alone was born. Hooton Tennis Club’s sophomore effort, Big Box Of Chocolates, is full of bright, catchy songs which evoke northern England in their typically laconic style. Courteeners’ latest, Mapping The Rendezvous, is full of hooky guitar riffs and memorable lyrics; if you like The Maccabees or Blossom, this one will be right up your street. If, on the other hand, you like your nu metal, you’ll be excited about Korn’s return with Serenity Of Suffering – darkly atmospheric and brutal. Michael Bublé releases Nobody But Me, a collection of original pop tunes and beautiful standards that highlight his talent as a profound interpreter of the American songbook as well as gifted songwriter. Jimmy Eat World’s 9th studio album, Integrity Blues, is a more polished and melodic effort, with songs that run from jangly guitar to introspective balladry. Lazarus is the original cast recording of the musical co-created by David Bowie, inspired by the novel The Man Who Fell To Earth.

Album of the week is David Crosby’s Lighthouse, a masterful record which has been recorded in a stripped-down, intimate style that’s perfect for the songs on it.

David Crosby - LighthousePretenders - AloneHooton Tennis Club - Big Box Of ChocolatesCourteeners - Mapping The RendezvousKorn - The Serenity Of SufferingMichael Bublé - Nobody But MeJimmy Eat World - Integrity BluesOriginal Cast Recording - Lazarus

Click here for more details and to order your copy.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *