New releases for 15 July 2016

First up of our recommended new releases for 15 July is Aaron Neville, who celebrates his 75th birthday with Apache, an album of impeccable soul. David Corley’s Lights Out was written after he suffered a massive heart attack on stage and, as you would expect, it’s a beautiful exploration of death and illness. Jeff Beck returns with his first album for 6 years, the aptly titled Loud Hailer – full of lyrical guitar work and topical words. Nonkeen, who include amongst their number Nils Frahm, release Oddments Of A Gamble hot on the heels of their well received first album. Steven Tyler – yep, the bloke from Aerosmith with the scarves – releases a solo country album, yes you did read that right, a country album, and even more surprisingly it’s really good! Unusually for us, we are also recommending this week a various artists album: Eleven Into Fifteen, which features the very best of what is called post–classical music. Don’t let the awkward label put you off, give it a listen! Also, after a long delay, Michael Kiwanuka’s Love & Hate finally reaches its release date.

Album of the week is Björk’s Vulnicura Live, which is as it says on the tin, but great for all that.

Björk - Vulnicura LiveAaron Neville - ApacheDavid Corley - Lights OutJeff Beck - Loud HailerNonkeen - Oddments Of The GambleSteven Tyler - We’re All Somebody From SomewhereVarious Artists - Eleven Into Fifteen: A 130701 CompilationMichael Kiwanuka - Love & Hate

Click here for more details and to order your copy.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *